Using a VPN improves privacy & security dramatically. When you are browsing the Internet, almost half is still unencrypted. That means anyone on the same network can see your history, including sign in information, passwords, credit card information, etc. in plain text. This is extremely dangerous, and VPNs provide a simple solution to protect you from that risk.
However, some websites do not operate well with a VPN. We strongly suggest not using these websites, but for those that are very trusted & necessary for your work, we have built a technology to allow certain traffic to directly communicate with the website.
Confirmed Team Suggestions
To make our product seamless, there are several domains that we automatically whitelist. These include Apple, Adobe, Twitter, Hulu, Netflix, and several other websites that you can see in your settings.
These domains can easily be disabled from Whitelisting in the Settings page if you would like to send the data through our VPN.
Because everyone's Internet usage is different, we also allow the user to permit whitelisting when he or she finds it necessary. This allows you to send traffic directly to the website instead of our VPN. We do not recommend this unless it is absolutely necessary for your Internet experience. You can add any domain in the Settings page and remove it later if you no longer want to Whitelist that website.
For users that want an extra level of privacy, we allow a setting on macOS & Windows that requires the VPN be enabled for any Internet usage (except for Whitelisted sites, which you will need to manually disable). This means that no data will directly communicate without being routed through our VPN. If the VPN is disabled or cannot communicate with our Confirmed servers, you will have no Internet usage until you turn off the VPN.
This setting is off by default, but you can enable it in the Settings of the desktop app.
Please let us know if you have any questions regarding Whitelisting or the Force VPN switch.